Market conditions on the Basque Coast

11 th of july 2012 – Meeting with a lawyer from the Basque Coast

Biarritz and Saint-Jean-de-Luz : various clients and properties

Biarritz and Saint-Jean-de-Luz are very popular places to live, but nevertheless have differing types of customers. The mobile dynamic international clientele of Biarritz often contrasts with the more family oriented and comfortably-off customers of Saint-Jean-de-Luz, where the safe beaches, the natural surroundings and the possibility of having everything within walking distance are major assets.

The customers’ objectives are quite different: in Biarritz, they are looking for a rental property or to buy a second home while in Saint-Jean-de-Luz, they are more often retirees who wish to settle there.

Also customers wishing to purchase property in Saint-Jean-de-Luz are in mainly looking to live in the town center where everything is accessible on foot unlike those in Biarritz who seem not to need this so much. In Saint-Jean-de-Luz, customers appreciate its family atmosphere and are used to coming here on holiday year after year. The most sought after areas are undoubtedly Sainte-Barbe and Aice Errota. The former dominates the sea and the bay of Saint-Jean-de-Luz, yet is close to the town and the beach. The second retains its original charm. It should be noted that these neighborhoods have a very low turnover rate; this means that the house prices are very high in the city center.

Houses in Saint-Jean-de-Luz are more difficult to find than in Biarritz and this shortage of properties has caused an explosion in prices which on average are higher than in Biarritz and elsewhere on the coast. Prices in the Saint-Charles district have increased significantly because in recent years, property there was undervalued compared to the surrounding neighborhoods ( Edward VII or Miramar for example) and also because this area has many old houses, which, when renovated, are proving to be perfect second or vacation homes. While on this subject one should note that house renovations are not as unpleasant as they used to be and often the buyers are happy to put up with them.

It is the same with regard to land (demand greatly exceeds the supply) but for this type of property, the average prices in Biarritz are higher than those of Saint-Jean-de-Luz. The explanation seems to come from the fact that attractive plots are rare around Biarritz while there are more plots available around St Jean de Luz, but which are considered less attractive. This matches the Saint Jean de Luz customer type, who wants to walk: despite the availability of land on the outskirts of the “ville corsaire”, buyers are only moderately interested. Finally, certain land close to Saint Jean de Luz is “frozen”, since up to now the final location of the new high speed rail line has not been fixed.

On average prices are stable. This is explained because prices of exceptional properties are rising steadily while prices of average and mid-range properties continue to drop.

So the market is fairly stable, but one thing is certain: the Basque coast, and in particular its seaboard still attracts a great deal of interest.

The market for luxury real estate is doing quite well and properties valued at over one million euros are weathering the crisis. Top range real estate consists of micro markets which are relatively disconnected from economic conditions.

ETAT DU MARCHE SUR LA COTE BASQUE

Le 11 Juillet 2012 – Entretien avec un notaire de la Côte Basque

Biarritz et Saint-Jean-de-Luz : des clientèles et des biens différents

Destinations très prisées, Biarritz et Saint-Jean-de-Luz possèdent toutefois des clientèles différentes. A la clientèle internationale dynamique et mobile de Biarritz on oppose souvent la clientèle plus familiale et aisée de Saint-Jean-de-Luz, où les plages protégées, l’environnement tourné vers la nature et l’option « tout à pied » restent des atouts majeurs.

Les objectifs des clients sont différents : à Biarritz on recherche une résidence secondaire ou locative tandis qu’à Saint-Jean-de-Luz, ce sont souvent des seniors qui souhaitent s’installer en résidence principale.

On remarque également que la clientèle souhaitant acquérir un bien à Saint-Jean-de-Luz recherche en priorité le centre de Saint-Jean-de-Luz, et un mode de vie à pied, contrairement à celle de Biarritz qui semble en ressentir moins le besoin. La clientèle de Saint-Jean-de-Luz apprécie son côté familial et y séjourne en vacances depuis de nombreuses années. Les secteurs les plus recherchés sont sans conteste Sainte-Barbe et Aice Errota. Le premier domine la baie de Saint-Jean-de-Luz et la mer, tout en étant à proximité immédiate de la ville et de la plage, le second conserve son charme d’antan. Il faut cependant noter que ces quartiers présentent un très faible taux de rotation. Ainsi, les prix sont très élevés en centre-ville.

A Saint-Jean-de-Luz, les maisons se font plus rares qu’à Biarritz et cette pénurie de biens provoque une explosion des prix, en moyenne supérieurs à Biarritz et au reste de la côte. Le quartier Saint-Charles a quant à lui connu une belle dynamique car, ces dernières années, il restait tout de même sous-coté par rapport aux quartiers voisins (Edouard VII ou Miramar par exemple) et aussi parce que ce quartier propose un grand nombre de maisons anciennes, qui, réaménagées, se révèlent être de parfaites résidences de vacances ou secondaires. À ce sujet, on peut constater que les travaux à effectuer dans une maison ne sont plus aussi rebutants qu’avant et parfois les acquéreurs s’en accommodent parfaitement.

Le constat est similaire pour les terrains (la demande est très largement supérieure à l’offre) mais pour ce type de biens, les prix moyens constatés à Biarritz sont supérieurs à ceux de Saint-Jean-de-Luz. L’explication semble provenir du fait que les terrains attrayants sont rares autour de Biarritz alors qu’il y a plus de terrains disponibles autour de saint Jean-de-Luz, mais ceux-ci sont jugés moins attrayants. Ceci corrobore la typologie de la clientèle de Saint Jean de Luz qui recherche un mode de vie à pied : même en présence de terrains aux portes de la ville corsaire, les acquéreurs ne s’y intéressent que modestement. Enfin, on peut noter que certains terrains proches de Saint Jean de Luz sont « gelés », en l’absence d’une vision claire de la future ligne LGV à ce jour.

Si l’on observe l’évolution des prix, elle est en moyenne stable. Ceci s’explique par le fait que les prix des biens d’exception progressent sans cesse alors que les prix des biens entrée et moyen de gamme poursuivent leur descente.

Le marché est donc assez stable, mais une chose est sûre : la Côte basque, et en particulier son littoral, suscitent toujours beaucoup d’intérêt.

Le marché de l’immobilier de luxe se porte plutôt bien et les biens immobiliers situés au-dessus d’un million d’euros résistent à la crise. Le haut de gamme est constitué de micromarchés relativement déconnectés de la situation économique.